Achievement Awards Archive

The Award of Distinction was established to recognize a landscape professional (member or not) who has made a distinguished contribution to the Landscape Design Profession. The following is a list of past recipients:

Darrell Morrison (2017)
Bernard Trainor (2015)
Nancy Goslee Power (2014)
Anthony Archer‐Wills (2013)
Topher Delaney (2012)
Piet Oudolf (2010, awarded in 2011)
Isabelle Greene (2009)
C. Colston Burrell (2008)
James van Sweden (2007)
Julie Moir Messervy (2005, awarded in 2006)
John Brookes (2004)
Gregory M. Pierceall (2003)
W. Gary Smith (2002)
Wolfgang Oehme (2001)
Gary Rateway
Robin Williams, APLD
A.E. Bye
Peggy Connors, APLD
Donna Swansen, APLD

The growth of APLD has been so indebted to the enthusiasm and energy of local activists that we would like to honor those individuals with the new Chapter Service Award. This award is to be presented to a current member in good standing who has shown exemplary service in furthering the goals and work of an APLD Chapter or District. The following is a list of past recipients:

Linda Middleton, APLD (2017)
Cheri Stringer, APLD (2017)
Patricia St. John, APLD (2016)
Barbara Simon, APLD (2016)
Thomas Wilhelm, APLD (2016)
Carol Palansky (2015)
Maria von Brincken, APLD (2015)
Bill Einhorn, APLD (2014)
Barbara Hilty, APLD (2014)
Pamela Berstler (2014)
Paul Connolly, APLD (2013)
Mary Fisher, APLD (2013)
Amelia B. Lima, APLD (2013)
Jock Lewendon, APLD (2012)
Katherine Stokes-Shafer, APLD (2012)
Sharon Gibson (2012)

This award honors founding member Harry Schuster, APLD. He was well known and loved for his enthusiasm, his mentoring of many designers and his boundless energy for recruiting new members. Tragically his life ended much too soon. This award is to be presented to a current member in good standing who exhibits enthusiasm and selfless efforts towards furthering the mission of APLD either nationally or internationally. The following is a list of past recipients:

2017 – Vanessa Gardner Nagel, APLD
2016 – Susan Cohan, APLD
2015 – Laura Kuhn
2014 – Bobbie Schwartz, FAPLD
2013 – Judy Nauseef, FAPLD
2012 – Patricia St. John, APLD
2010 – Samuel Salsbury, FAPLD
2009 – Rhonda Smith, APLD
2008 – Deanna Pillarelli, FAPLD
2007 – Linda Engstrom, FAPLD
2006 – Tina Nyce, FAPLD
2005 – Myrna Dowsett, FAPLD
2004 – Gerry Couch, FAPLD
2003 – H. Kibbe Turner, APLD
2002 – Tim Thoelecke, Jr., APLD
2000 – John Hetrick, APLD
1999 – Samuel Swansen, Esq.

The Award for Leadership in Landscape Sustainability was established to recognize an individual or organization that has demonstrated a commitment to environmental sustainability through outstanding leadership, advocacy, projects, initiatives, writing, and/or education, resulting in benefits to both nature and the practice of landscape design. The award recipient’s work should have broad impact, preferably on a regional, national or international scale. It is not necessary for individual nominees to be members of APLD or for nominated organizations to be affiliated with APLD; however, only APLD members in good standing may provide nominations. The award may be presented annually and posthumously.

The following is a list of past recipients:

2017 – Toni Bailey
2016 – G3 Green Gardens Group
2015 – Salsbury-Schweyer, Inc. (Samuel Salsbury and Sabrena Schweyer)
2014 – Garth Conrad